Self-drivingRobotaxi service (closed)
Cruise
Cruise was General Motors' robotaxi company. It gave driverless rides in San Francisco until a 2023 crash, and GM shut the robotaxi business down in December 2024. Axios, 11 Dec 2024
EndedGM stopped funding the Cruise robotaxi business in December 2024 and moved the work toward self-driving tech for personal cars. The stage below shows how far it got.
- Evidence
- Independently reported
- Human help
- Not disclosed
- Last milestone
- 4 Feb 2025
01Can I get it?
Yes, in places
- Where it works today
- Not stated in our sources.
- Published price
- No published price in our sources.
- Human help
- The maker hasn't said whether people help it remotely.
02Track record
What has actually happened
Every milestone is dated and links to the page it comes from. Lines marked company-reported rest on the maker's own word.
03Safety and incidents
What has gone wrong
A Cruise robotaxi ended up on top of a woman who had first been hit by another car. She was trapped underneath it. TechCrunch, 24 Oct 2023
The US road-safety agency NHTSA opened an investigation into Cruise's self-driving system after several incidents with pedestrians. TechCrunch, 24 Oct 2023
NHTSA fined Cruise $1.5 million. TechCrunch, 15 Nov 2024
How we placed it
The rule, not an opinion
Stages are worked out by published rules from the dated milestones above. We never rate robots, and no maker can pay to change a stage.
- 5
Regulator-cleared or mass marketThis robot
A regulator has cleared it where approval applies: FDA clearance or approval for a medical robot, a permit to run with no one aboard for a self-driving vehicle, or an FAA approval for routine drone flights. Or: Widely sold: sales in the hundreds of thousands, or a product category you can buy in ordinary shops.
Placed by: California's utilities regulator (CPUC) let Cruise and Waymo charge fares for driverless rides at any hour across San Francisco (Aug 2023).
- 4
Paying customers
Delivered to customers who pay for it, beyond a trial, or a paid service the public can use.
- 3
Pilot
Working with a named customer in a real setting, as a trial.
- 2
Pre-orders
Orders, reservations or deposits taken, with nothing delivered yet.
- 1
Demo only
Shown in videos, staged events or a factory, with no units working for customers.
What we couldn't confirm. The robotaxi service no longer runs. The exact month of the NHTSA $1.5 million fine was not confirmed (listed as 2024).
Sources
- 01Axios, 11 Dec 2024
- 02TechCrunch, 4 Feb 2025
- 03TechCrunch, 15 Nov 2024
- 04TechCrunch, 24 Oct 2023
- 05Engadget, 11 Aug 2023
Cite this page
Robotics Verdict. “Cruise (General Motors (Cruise)): how far has it got?” roboticsverdict.com/robots/cruise. Checked 19 October 2026.
More in Self-driving vehicles
- Apollo GoBaidu · Cleared or mass market
- Einride autonomous podsEinride · Cleared or mass market
- FSD (Supervised)Tesla · Cleared or mass market
- GatikGatik AI · Cleared or mass market
- MomentaMomenta · Cleared or mass market
- Pony.ai RobotaxiPony.ai · Cleared or mass market
