ServiceMeal assembly robot arms
Chef robots
Chef Robotics makes robot arms that put food portions into meal trays on production lines at big food makers. It focuses on putting meals together, not cooking. TechCrunch, 26 Jan 2024
- Evidence
- Independently reported
- Human help
- Not disclosed
- Last milestone
- 17 April 2026
01Can I get it?
Yes, in places
- Where it works today
- Working at food makers such as Amy's Kitchen and Chef Bombay; the company says its robots are at more than a dozen sites in the US, Canada and Europe. Chef Robotics website, Oct 2026
- Published price
- No published price in our sources.
- Human help
- The maker hasn't said whether people help it remotely.
02Track record
What has actually happened
Every milestone is dated and links to the page it comes from. Lines marked company-reported rest on the maker's own word.
Paying customers · sets the stage
Chef's customers include food makers Amy's Kitchen and Chef Bombay.
03Safety and incidents
What has gone wrong
No crashes, recalls or regulator reports in our sources. That is not proof none happened; we add them when a regulator or trusted outlet reports one.
How we placed it
The rule, not an opinion
Stages are worked out by published rules from the dated milestones above. We never rate robots, and no maker can pay to change a stage.
- 5
Regulator-cleared or mass market
A regulator has cleared it where approval applies: FDA clearance or approval for a medical robot, a permit to run with no one aboard for a self-driving vehicle, or an FAA approval for routine drone flights. Or: Widely sold: sales in the hundreds of thousands, or a product category you can buy in ordinary shops.
- 4
Paying customersThis robot
Delivered to customers who pay for it, beyond a trial, or a paid service the public can use.
Placed by: Chef said its robots had passed 100 million servings, counting each portion a robot puts into a meal tray. It added an airline catering company and works with a big school lunch provider (17 April 2026); Chef's customers include food makers Amy's Kitchen and Chef Bombay (10 April 2025).
- 3
Pilot
Working with a named customer in a real setting, as a trial.
- 2
Pre-orders
Orders, reservations or deposits taken, with nothing delivered yet.
- 1
Demo only
Shown in videos, staged events or a factory, with no units working for customers.
What we couldn't confirm. Number of robots in service not stated; the company's own site says more than a dozen customer sites.
Sources
- 01TechCrunch, 26 Jan 2024
- 02Chef Robotics website, Oct 2026
- 03TechCrunch, 17 Apr 2026
- 04TechCrunch, 10 Apr 2025
- 05TechCrunch, 13 May 2021
Cite this page
Robotics Verdict. “Chef robots (Chef Robotics): how far has it got?” roboticsverdict.com/robots/chef-robotics. Checked 19 October 2026.
More in Restaurants, shops and hotels
- BrainOSBrain Corp · Cleared or mass market
- Keenon delivery robots (T-series, DINERBOT, XMAN)Keenon Robotics · Cleared or mass market
- ADAM and other Richtech robotsRichtech Robotics · Paying customers
- AescapeAescape · Paying customers
- BellaBot, KettyBot and other Pudu robotsPudu Robotics · Paying customers
- Flippy Fry StationMiso Robotics · Paying customers
